Lamentations

POEM OF THE “ONCE WAS”

 

I remember when I was a somebody,

Then, everything is at my beck and call.

But right now that I’m a nobody,

Everything is long gone and sour.

 

I remember when I was a somebody,

Then I could do and undo as I wish.

But right now that I’m a nobody,

I dare not even do as I deem fit.

 

I remember when I was a somebody,

Without me there is no party.

But right now that I’m a nobody,

None remembers me for I’m tatty.

 

I remember when I was a somebody,

My wish was everyone’s command.

But right now that I’m a nobody,

I wish but it’s jest and name of showman.

 

I remember when I was a somebody,

Everywhere I am and go is always rocking.

But right now that I’m a nobody,

No whistling but hate-hissing.

 

I remember when I was a somebody,

My six square meal is a constant thing.

But right now that I’m a nobody,

One zero zero is a blessing.

 

I remember when I was a somebody,

Impossibilities are always possible.

But right now that I’m a nobody,

Possibilities are hard and impossible.

 

I can go on and on with my story,

Of when I was a somebody.

But now it’s shameful and topsy-turvy.

For I’m now a nobody.

 

Composed by:

HalladieTosin

Eaglestalons

©2015

